The newly formed Aged & Community Care Providers Association (ACCPA) has announced its inaugural Board structure, as the new organisation works towards being operational by July 2022.

Members of the new 15-strong Board have appointed Dr Graeme Blackman AO FTSE FAICD as Chair, with Cherylee Treloar, CEO at Footprints Community, Queensland, appointed Deputy Chair. Both positions were determined at the Board’s inaugural meeting held earlier this week.

“It’s an honour to be elected as ACCPA’s first-ever Board Chair,” Dr Blackman said. “The formation of ACCPA is the first step towards a more unified industry, with a single and strong voice able to represent all aged care providers. The ACCPA Board will play a pivotal role in ensuring the new organisation provides the governance and leadership that the community clearly expects, and our industry needs, for a sustainable aged care future.”

Ms Treloar said a major focus for the new Board would be the appointment of ACCPA’s first CEO, with an announcement expected in July 2022: “Our new Board is already working hard to find the right leader, one who is able to drive ACCPA through this new era with strong purpose, and a collaborative approach to working with consumers, communities and government. I look forward to representing our sector through this change, and the creation of our new high-performing, trusted industry association.”

Major priorities for the new Board range from setting the governance structure, including the establishment of sub-committees that enable national representation, diversity of experience and promotion of strategic priorities, to forming a Board Committee to oversee Director appointments in the future.

The new association, ACCPA, was announced on 3 May, following a call by the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety last year, which recommended greater industry collaboration and unified leadership.

As a result, a transformation committee was formed to help drive change. Members of peak bodies Aged & Community Services Australia (ACSA) and Leading Age Services Australia (LASA) then voted in favour of creating the single industry association at respective Special General Meetings on 29 April, paving the way for the creation of ACCPA by July 2022.

About the ACCPA Board

ACCPA’s 15-strong Foundation Board comprises10 elected Directors, three independent Directors and two multi-state Directors.

Board appointments range from one to three years; new appointments will be made during a transition process which will be complete by 2024-2025.  A detailed transition diagram can be found here. In addition to Dr Graeme Blackman, and Cherylee Treloar, Directors of the Board are (in alphabetical order):

  • Daniel Aitchison, Chief Executive at Clayton Church Homes, South Australia
  • Dr Saranne Cooke, Independent Director
  • Jackie Howard, CEO at Masonic Care, Tasmania
  • Michelle Jenkins, CEO of Community Vision Australia, Western Australia
  • Nick Loudon, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Envigor, Queensland
  • Lee Martin, CEO and Director of Care at Tanunda Lutheran Home, South Australia
  • Linda Mellors, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at Regis Aged Care, multi-state Director
  • Robert Orie, Chief Executive Officer of Montefiore, New South Wales
  • Sue Peden AM, Independent Director
  • Kerri Rivett, Chief Executive of Royal Freemasons
  • Mark Sewell, CEO at Warrigal, New South Wales
  • Stephen Muggleton, Group CEO at Bolton Clarke
  • Shane Yensch, Executive Director at Alinea Inc., Western Australia

 About Dr Graeme Blackman AO FTSE FAICD, ACCPA Chair 

Dr Graeme L Blackman AO FTSE FAICD is an experienced company director and trustee. He joined LASA as Independent Chairman in August 2014. He is the Chancellor of the University of Divinity, President of the Victorian Council of Churches, Deputy Chairman of the Australian Youth Orchestra and Chairman of the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia. Dr Blackman is a Trustee of numerous trusts including Chairman of the Anglicare Victoria Community Services Trust, Chairman of Trustees of the Journal of Anglican Studies Trust, Chairman of the Johnston Collection of Fine and Decorative Arts and a trustee of the Leith Trust.

A former Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry in the Victorian College of Pharmacy, Dr Blackman has served on the boards of several publicly listed technology companies.  He was the Chairman of the National Trust of Australia (Victoria), Chairman of the Australian Council of National Trusts and Chairman of Victoria’s Heritage Restoration Fund. He was the Chairman of Anglicare Victoria, a Director of Benetas aged care, a member of the Council and Board of Trinity College at the University of Melbourne, a Director of the Melbourne Anglican Diocesan Corporation and a member of the Chapter of St Paul’s Cathedral Melbourne.  He was for several years a member of Archbishop in Council of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne. Dr Blackman is an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the pharmaceutical industry, to scientific research and policy development, to theological education and the Anglican Church of Australia, and to aged care.

About Cherylee Treloar, ACCPA Deputy Chair

Since 2010 Cherylee Treloar has been the CEO of Footprints Community, Queensland, a highly respected not for profit community-based organisation that delivers community-based support and clinical services; funded by government (Commonwealth, State and Local) and charitable donation to older people, disabled, mentally ill, homeless and at risk of homeless persons. She has previously held management positions with global companies such as Australian Red Cross (Queensland) and Statewide Blue Care as well as Local Government (economic development & corporate services).

Cherylee has continually been involved in a variety of groups and boards including contributing to various government consultations. Over the past three years, Government initiatives have included Aged Care Reforms (Consumer Directed Care) and the National Disability Insurance Scheme; facilitating workforce and program restructuring, effective funding utilisation and strengthening governance.

Media contact: Kate Hannon 0499 106 957 or